
HOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE 

Requirements for entering into a Marriage: 

For two persons to establish a Marriage in this State, it shall be 
necessary that they satisfy all of the following criteria:  

a. Not be a party to another civil union, domestic partnership or 
marriage in this State or recognized by this State;  

b. Be at least 18 years of age, except that applicants under the age of 
18 may enter into a Marriage with parental consent. Applicants 
under the age of 16 must obtain parental consent and have the 
consent approved in writing by any judge of the Superior Court, 
Chancery Division, Family part.  

 
Where to Apply: 

 
The marriage license application is to be made in the New Jersey 
municipality in which either party resides and the license is valid 
throughout the State of New Jersey.  
1. If neither applicant is a New Jersey resident, submit the 

application in the municipality where the marriage ceremony will 
be performed, the license is only valid in the issuing municipality.  

 
What you should bring with you when you apply for a marriage 
license: 
 

1. Both Applicants and a witness must be present.  
2. Birth Certificates are not required, however, to ensure that correct 

information is given we suggest the document be provided.  
3. Valid photo I.D. must be presented. Driver's license, or Passport.  
4. Proof of your residency.* (Utility bill, Bank Statement, etc. Three separate 

current documents (within the past 30 days) must be submitted).  
5. Your social security card or social security number.* * 
6. A witness (18 years or older) who knows both the male and female 

applicants. (Witness must provide proof of identity (valid photo ID),  and 
residency) 

7.  If you are divorced or have had a marriage annulled, please bring the 
certified divorce decree or the civil annulment documents.  

8. If your former spouse is deceased, please bring the certified death cert.  
9. Parent’s names, including Maiden name of each Mother, and birthplace of 

Parents (either State or Country) must be provided.  
10. Date of Ceremony, name, address and telephone number of person 

performing the ceremony is required.  
11. The application fee is $28.00. (NO PERSONAL CHECKS ACCEPTED, 

CASH, BANK CHECKS OR MONEY ORDERS ONLY). 
12. THE MARRIAGE LICENSE IS VALID ONLY IN THE STATE OF NEW 

JERSEY. 
13. Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified      
(notarized) English translation.  
 

*If you submit a valid State Issued Photo Drivers License, it will establish                                             
your residency 
 
**Your social security number is required by law and will be kept confidential.  
 

 



 

 

APPLICANTS AND WITNESS SHOULD BE AWARE THAT THEY ARE MAKING 

APPLICATION UNDER OATH, AND THAT A FALSE OATH CONSTITUTES PERJURY, 

WHICH IS PUNISHABLE BY A MAXIMUM FINE OF $7,500.00 

After you apply: 

There is a 72-hour waiting period before the license is issued. The waiting period begins 

when the application is filed with the Local Registrar.  

The marriage license application is valid for six months from the date accepted, unless the 

Registrar has given prior approval to extend the validity of the application to a maximum of 

one year.  

Only one marriage license may be granted from a marriage application. If the license expires 

before being used, a new application must be made and another $28 fee remitted.  

The only exception to this requirement is in the case where a civil and religious ceremony are 

to be performed on the same day. In this case, the Local Registrar will photocopy the 

marriage application, marking one "A" and one "B", and issue the corresponding marriage 

licenses, marking them "A" and "B" as well. One copy will be used for the religious ceremony 

and the other for the civil ceremony.  

 

APPLICATIONS MAY BE MADE IN THE CITY CLERK’S OFFICE, (2ND FLOOR) IN LINDEN 

CITY HALL, BETWEEN THE HOURS OF 10 A.M. AND 4:00 P.M., ON THURSDAYS BY 

APPOINTMENT ONLY.  PLEASE CONTACT OUR OFFICE AT (908)474-8452 TO 

SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT.  

Mayor Derek Armstead does perform marriage ceremonies, FOR LINDEN RESIDENTS 

ONLY. Please contact his office directly at (908)-474-8493, to make arrangements.  

 

 



 

 

**HOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE** 

Requirements for entering into a Marriage: 

For two persons to establish a Marriage in this State, it shall be 
necessary that they satisfy all of the following criteria:  

c. Not be a party to another civil union, domestic partnership or 
marriage in this State or recognized by this State;  

d. Be of the opposite sex; and  
e. Be at least 18 years of age, except that applicants under the age of 

18 may enter into a Marriage with parental consent. Applicants 
under the age of 16 must obtain parental consent and have the 
consent approved in writing by any judge of the Superior Court, 
Chancery Division, Family part.  

 
Where to Apply: 

 
The marriage license application is to be made in the New Jersey 
municipality in which either party resides and the license is valid 
throughout the State of New Jersey.  
2. If neither applicant is a New Jersey resident, submit the 

application in the municipality where the marriage ceremony will 
be performed, the license is only valid in the issuing municipality.  

 
What you should bring with you when you apply for a marriage 
license: 
 

13. Both Applicants and a witness must be present.  
14. Birth Certificates are not required, however, to ensure that correct 

information is given we suggest the document be provided.  
15. Valid photo I.D. must be presented. Driver's license, or Passport.  
16. Proof of your residency.* (Utility bill, Bank Statement, etc. Three separate 

current documents (within the past 30 days) must be submitted).  
17. Your social security card or social security number.* * 
18. A witness (18 years or older) who knows both the male and female 

applicants. (Witness must provide proof of identity (valid photo ID),  and 
residency).  Also, the witness should be able to speak and understand 
English, as they will be attesting to the information you provide us under 
oath and there is a $7,500.00 fine for each person involved in the 
application if any of the information appears false. 

19.  If you are divorced or have had a marriage annulled, please bring the 
certified divorce decree or the civil annulment documents.  

20. If your former spouse is deceased, please bring the certified death cert.  
21. Parent’s names, including Maiden name of each Mother, and birthplace of 

Parents (either State or Country) must be provided.  
22. Date of Ceremony, name, address and telephone number of person 

performing the ceremony is required.  
23. The application fee is $28.00. (NO PERSONAL CHECKS ACCEPTED, 

CASH, BANK CHECKS OR MONEY ORDERS ONLY). 
24. THE MARRIAGE LICENSE IS VALID ONLY IN THE STATE OF NEW 

JERSEY. 
13. Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified      
(notarized) English translation.  
 

*If you submit a valid State Issued Photo Drivers License, it will establish                                             
your residency 
 
**Your social security number is required by law and will be kept confidential.  
 



 

 

 

APPLICANTS AND WITNESS SHOULD BE AWARE THAT THEY ARE MAKING 

APPLICATION UNDER OATH, AND THAT A FALSE OATH CONSTITUTES PERJURY, 

WHICH IS PUNISHABLE BY A MAXIMUM FINE OF $7,500.00 

After you apply: 

There is a 72-hour waiting period before the license is issued. The waiting period begins 

when the application is filed with the Local Registrar.  

The marriage license application is valid for six months from the date accepted, unless the 

Registrar has given prior approval to extend the validity of the application to a maximum of 

one year.  

Only one marriage license may be granted from a marriage application. If the license expires 

before being used, a new application must be made and another $28 fee remitted.  

The only exception to this requirement is in the case where a civil and religious ceremony are 

to be performed on the same day. In this case, the Local Registrar will photocopy the 

marriage application, marking one "A" and one "B", and issue the corresponding marriage 

licenses, marking them "A" and "B" as well. One copy will be used for the religious ceremony 

and the other for the civil ceremony.  

APPLICATIONS MAY BE MADE IN THE CITY CLERK’S OFFICE, (2ND FLOOR) IN LINDEN 

CITY HALL, BETWEEN THE HOURS OF 10 A.M. AND 4:00 P.M., ON THURSDAYS BY 

APPOINTMENT ONLY.  PLEASE CONTACT OUR OFFICE AT (908)474-8452 TO 

SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT.  

Mayor Richard J. Gerbounka does perform marriage ceremonies, FOR LINDEN 

RESIDENTS ONLY. Please contact his office directly at (908)-474-8493, to make 

arrangements.  

 

 

 

 


